Skip to content

ASK THE BLOGGERS: Knowing what you know now, what would you do differently when setting up your book blog?

June 28, 2011

One of the goals of the BBA is to help bloggers help each other by providing helpful advice on various topics pertaining to book blogging. So, we’ve started a band new series of posts called “Ask the Bloggers” in which we ask questions that range from seeking advice to just having fun with literature, and solicit answers from the blogging community. If you’d like to participate, new questions will be posted on the BBA’s Facebook page with directions on where to send your answers. Without further ado, we would like to introduce our very first “Ask the Bloggers” question. Special thanks to our participating bloggers!

Knowing what you know now, what would you do differently when setting up your book blog?

I wouldn’t have been so shy! I looked at authors like these major celebrities instead of very accessible people who actually wanted to talk to me and to be featured on my blog. My first interview was with on of my favorite authors. I still remember being so excited when he said yes, I was dancing around the house like I’d just won tickets to a big rock concert. Almost three years later, we still talk nearly every week. – Arya Smith, Sea of Pages

.

I don’t think I would have done anything differently.  I started the blog for friends who wanted to hear about what I was reading.  It grew to be a little bit more than that but I am happy with it.  It is a hobby and I love it that people come and visit! – Amber, Amberkatze’s Book Blog

.

Well, I’ve never really had any problems with my page, I think Facebook pages are so much simpler than blog pages.  One thing I would have done differently was NOT trying to be sneaky about who I was as the owner.  I would go to different pages and say, “Please join my friend’s page” as opposed to just saying that I had started a page and needed some followers.  When I started there weren’t a lot of pages dedicated to books on Facebook so I thought that others from those pages wouldn’t be as helpful, but as time has gone on and more and more pages are popping up, I see the response they get simply by asking others to spread the word.  That’s the one thing I would have changed. – Beccie, Bookies on Facebook

.

If I were to redo my blog, I would organize it before I started adding stuff. It gets kind of confusing and there is a lot of stuff that you can put on there. I also would have researched a little more about my options so I could get everything put on there correctly.  😀 – Leagh Christensen, Romance Book Craze

.

I wish the I would have done a little more research on how the features of my blog worked. While I knew how to use WordPress, I didn’t fully understand the functionality of the widgets or how they could be used. I am just beginning to use them now, and it amazes me how many times I could have put them to use in the past. The one thing that really has worked well for me is  that I put together Underwords with the sole intent of publishing content that I would want to read. Then I charged forward with the belief that other people would want to read it too. – Erin Underwood, Underwords

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

